Federal, state and local races are in the primary election; however, some contests don’t have primaries if there is only one candidate from the party running for a seat.

Election Day is Tuesday, May 4. Early voting begins Thursday, April 15, and runs through Saturday, May 1. During early voting, you can register to vote and cast your ballot on the same day.

Runoff elections, if necessary, will be held Tuesday, June 22, with early voting running from June 3-19.

For more information or to find your polling place, call the Durham County Board of Elections at 560-0700 or visit www.co.durham.nc.us/departments/elec.

The Indy does not endorse in unopposed races. Here are our recommendations for the contested elections.

Not all of these names appear on every Durham voter’s ballot. Some congressional districts, for example, include only limited areas of the county.

Search and read candidate questionnaires.

U.S. Senate

Ken Lewis (D)
No Republican endorsement

U.S. House

District 4: William “B.J.” Lawson
No Democratic primary

State House

District 55: W.A. (Winkie) Wilkins (D)
No Republican primary

Judicial races (nonpartisan)

N.C. Court of Appeals (Calabria seat): Jane Gray

N.C. Court of Appeals (Elmore seat): Leto Copeley

Durham District Court Judge District 14 (Bushfan seat): Brian Aus

Durham District Court Judge District 14 (McKown seat): Kerry Sutton

Durham County Sheriff

Worth L. Hill (D)

Durham County Board of Education (nonpartisan)

District 1A: Omega Curtis Parker

District 2A: Fredrick A. Davis

District 3B: Nancy Cox

District 4B: Stephen A. Martin