Nicholas Addlery
  • Puerto Rico Islanders website
  • Nicholas Addlery

Today, the Carolina RailHawks announced the signing of forward Nicholas Addlery for the 2013 NASL season. Terms of the contract were not publicly disclosed.

The 31-year-old Addlery has been one of the most potent scorers in Division 2 soccer since 2008, when he netted five goals for the Vancouver Whitecaps, then a member of USL-1. Addlery signed with the Puerto Rico Islanders in 2009 and played his first three seasons there for Colin Clarke, now the manager of the RailHawks. Over his four total seasons Puerto Rico, Addlery scored nearly 50 goals in all competitions, including domestic league and cup play as well as the CONCACAF Champions League. Addlery is the career scoring leader in Islanders’ history.

Addlery also earned six caps for the Jamaican national team from 2009-2010.

“Nick is a proven striker and has been one of the top players in the league,” said RailHawks manager Colin Clarke in a statement. “He will be a great addition to our attack and be a leader on and off the field. Nick was a consistent presence in the community in Puerto Rico and I know he will be heavily involved in the Triangle community.”

After beginning his professional career in Trinidad and Tobago, Clarke signed Addlerly in 2007 to play for the Virginia Beach Mariners. However, that club folded prior to the beginning of the season. After a trial, Addlery was signed by D.C. United, where he made 11 appearance and scored one goal for a team that won Major League Soccer’s Supporters Shield.

Addlery’s departure extends an exodus from the Islanders, which announced last month that it would not compete in the NASL’s Spring Season and instead attempt to rejoin the league for the Fall Season in August. Over the past several weeks, Jay Needham and David Foley signed with other NASL clubs while Jonathan Faña began play with Alianza F.C. in El Salvador.

Addlery joins a RailHawks’ offense that, thus far, includes returnees Zack Schilawski, Brian Shriver, Nick Zimmerman, Ty Shipalane and Brian Ackley.