Fresh from the road supporting the newly released (and, for us, disappointing) Ruby Red, The Love Language is back with the digital release of Black Mt. Demos. The previously cassette-only album features outtakes and early versions of songs from Ruby Red.

McLamb’s storied meticulousness in the studio makes this peek into the writing process that much more intriguing. “I labor and obsess over song structure, and production is just as important as the songs themselves,” McLamb admits in a press release. “I always battle with whether or not I want the raw feel of the demos to be the final product.” With Ruby Red and Black Mt. Demos out there, listeners can have a sense of both.

McLamb can next be heard locally in a solo stint opening for Merge Records label mate Eleanor Friedberger at the Cats Cradle’s Back Room this Saturday, Oct. 12. For those and other details, check

Black Mt. Demos track listing:

1. Calm Down

2. On Our Heels

3. Remain in Soul

4. Kids

5. Knots

6. Shadow of a Ghost

7. Never Bleed

8. White Horse

9. Golden Age

10. Smile

11. Faithbreaker