Mary-Ann Baldwin took herself out of competition for her Raleigh City Council at-large seat Friday, saying it’s time for her to move on and make room for a new generation of leaders.

Baldwin, 60, cited at-large candidates Stacy Miller III and Nicole Stewart of examples of strong, younger candidates.

“As Democrats, I really believe that we do a terrible job of cultivating our next generation of leadership,” Baldwin said, adding that she was sad about leaving her post on the council.

Baldwin said she will continue as executive director of the Holt Brothers Foundation, as well as serving on the advisory board of Innovate Raleigh and on the Wake Tech Foundation Board.

Baldwin’s decision leaves Russ Stephenson, the other at-large incumbent, to face a crowd of six opponents in Oct. 10 city elections. Baldwin said she is not endorsing anyone in the race.

Stephenson’s opponents in the at-large race are Zainab Baloch, Robert Ward, Nicole Stewart, William Axtell, William Stacy Miller III and Shelia Alamin-Khashoggi.

Several other candidates filed by Friday noon, their last opportunity to do so. The last-minute additions means that all district incumbents will face at least one opponent.

According to voters and candidates, issues in the fall election include growth, affordable housing, taxes and traffic.

Councilman Gaylord Bonner will face challenges from Stefanie Mendell and Derek Miller in his bid to keep the District E seat. District A councilman Dickie Thompson, who like Gaylord had no opponents until Friday, will face Alex Moore.

In the mayoral race, incumbent Nancy McFarlane will be pitted against previously announced candidate Charles Francis and a new addition to the race, veteran Raleigh conservative and previous electoral candidate Paul Fitts.

Friday’s new candidate in the District C race was Crash Gregg, publisher of the Downtowner.

District C councilman Corey Branch already had opposition from Olen Leon Watson III, James G. Bledsoe and Jeff Stewart.

Two races had no new candidates: District B, where first-term incumbent David Cox faces veteran Raleigh politician John Odom, and District D, where incumbent Kay Crowder faces Bobby Plott Jr.