A vote that could send a controversial hog-farm-protection bill to the state Senate is scheduled for this afternoon at five o’clock. The INDY has previously reported that state Representative Jimmy Dixon—who has received $115,000 in campaign contributions from the pork industry—is the chief sponsor of HB 467, which would protect hog farmers from myriad legal claims, including twenty-six active lawsuits filed against Murphy-Brown LLC, the hog division of Smithfield Foods.

Nearly every representative (most were Republicans) who voted in favor of the measure Thursday has been a beneficiary of Big Pork’s generosity, including bill cosponsors John Bell and David Lewis. Bell, the House majority leader, has received $5,000 from the N.C. Pork Council, $1,000 from Smithfield Foods, $5,000 from Dixon, and $1,850 from people with ties to Goldsboro Milling, the tenth-largest hog producer in the nation. And Lewis got $15,500 from the Pork Council, $4,750 from Murphy-Brown stakeholders, $9,500 from Prestage Farms, and $7,000 from Smithfield, according to campaign finance records.

Here are the cumulative Big Pork contributions (courtesy of followthemoney.org) for everyone else who voted yes:

• John Bell (R-Craven, Greene, Lenoir, Wayne)—$12,850

• William Brisson (D-Bladen, Johnston, Sampson)—$11,750

• Justin Burr (R- Montgomery, Stanly)—$1,000

• Jimmy Dixon (R-Duplin, Wayne)—$115,000

• Josh Dobson (R-Avery, McDowell, Mitchell)—$750

• Nelson Dollar (R-Wake)—$5,050

• John Fraley (R-Iredell)—$500

• Kenneth Goodman (D-Hoke, Montgomery, Richmond, Robeson, Scotland)—$2,000

• Kyle Hall (R-Rockingham, Stokes)—$500

• Jon Hardister (R-Guilford)—$500

• D. Craig Horn (R-Union)—$500

• Julia Howard (R-Davie, Forsyth)—$7,150

•Howard Hunter (D-Bertie, Gates,Hertford, Pasquotank)—$500

• Patricia Hurley (R-Randolph)—$1,250

• Francis Iler Jr. (R-Brunswick—$13,750

• Linda Johnson (R-Cabarrus)—$3,500

• Jonathan Jordan (R-Ashe, Watauga)—$4,500

• Donny Lambeth (R-Forsyth)—$500

• David Lewis (R-Harnett)—$36,500

• Marvin Lucas (D-Cumberland)—$2,700

• Susan Martin (R-Pitt, Wilson)—$1,000

• Pat McElraft (R-Carteret, Jones)—$1,500

• Allen Ray McNeil (R-Moore, Randolph)—$500

• Rodney Moore (D-Mecklenburg)—$500

• Tim Moore (R-Cleveland)—$44,650

• Larry Pittman (R-Cabarrus)—$500

• Michele Presnell (R-Haywood, Madison, Yancey)—$2,500

• Dennis Patrick Riddell (R-Alamance)—$500

• Jason Saine (R-Lincoln)—$2,000

• Mitchell Setzer (R-Catawba)—$600 • Bob Steinburg (R-Camden, Chowan, Curritck, Pasquotank, Perquimas, Tyrrell)—$4,250

• Sarah Stevens (R-Surry, Wilkes)—$750

• Larry Craig Strickland (R-Johnston)—$750

• John David Szoka (R-Cumberland)—$10,000

• John Torbett (R- Gaston)—$250

• Rena Turner (R-Iredell)—$1,000

• Donna White (R-Johnston)—$500

• Michael Wray (D-Halifax, Northampton)—$4,800

• Walter Lee Zachary Jr. (R-Alexander, Wilkes, Yadkin)—$500

That’s nearly $300,000 in contributions from Big Pork.

The INDY’s Erica Hellerstein will be at the hearing this afternoon, and we’ll let you know how it goes.