Beasley, Budd Win US Senate Primaries, Foushee Wins NC-04, Nickel, Hines Win NC-13

Wake County DA Lorrin Freeman Wins Primary for Third Term

Thompson Upsets Smith for Durham Clerk of Court Seat, DPS Board Will Welcome Two New Members

Nieman Wins Primary for Orange-Chatham District Attorney

Buansi Defeats Garson in NC House 56 Race, Phil Berger Jr. Justice Pick Falls Short in Court of Appeals Race

U.S. House & Senate 


D Primary: Cheri Beasley

R Primary: Ted Budd

House, District 4

D Primary: Valerie Foushee

R Primary: Courtney Geels

House, District 13

D Primary: Wiley Nickel 

R Primary: Bo Hines

NC House & Senate

Senate, District 13

D Primary: Lisa Grafstein

R Primary: David Bankert

Senate, District 18

R Primary: E.C. Sykes

Senate, District 22 

R Primary: Larry Coleman

Senate, District 23

D Primary: Graig Meyer

R Primary: Landon Woods

House, District 33

D Primary: Rosa Gill

House, District 34

D Primary: Ashley Seshul

House, District 35

R Primary: Fred Von Canon

House, District 37

D Primary: Christine Kelly

House, District 40

D Primary: Joe John

House, District 50

D Primary: Renee Price

House, District 56

D Primary: Allen Buansi

House, District 66

D Primary: Sarah Crawford

Durham County

District Attorney: Satana Deberry

Sheriff: Clarence Birkhead

Clerk of Court: Aminah Thompson

Board of Education:

District 1: Emily Chavez

District 2: Bettina Umstead

District 3: Matt Sears

District 4: Natalie Beyer

District B: Millicent Rogers

NC District Court 14, Seat 1: Dave Hall

NC District Court 14, Seat 3: Kevin E. Jones

Wake County

District Attorney (D): Lorrin Freeman


D: Runoff between Willie Rowe and Gerald Baker

R: Donnie Harrison

Board of Commissioners, District 1: Donald Mial

Board of Commissioners, District 3: Cheryl Stallings

Cary Town Council

District A: Jennifer Robinson 

District C:  Renee Miller

At-Large: Carissa Johnson

Orange County

District Attorney: Jeff Nieman

Board of Education (four seats):

Andre Richmond

Anne Purcell

Will Atherton

Sarah Smylie

Register of Deeds: Mark Chilton

Carrboro Town Council: Eliazar Posada


Supreme Court, Seat 5 (R Primary): Trey Allen

NC Court of Appeals, Seat 9 (R Primary): Donna Stroud

NC Court of Appeals, Seat 11 (R Primary): Michael Stading

Support independent local journalism. Join the INDY Press Club to help us keep fearless watchdog reporting and essential arts and culture coverage viable in the Triangle. 

Comment on this story at