Durham County

NC Senate District 20 

Alvin Reed

Others in the race: Natalie Murdock

NC Senate District 22

Larry Coleman

Mike Woodard

Others in the race: Raymond Ubinger  

NC House District 2

Ray Jeffers

Others in the race: Gavin Bell, Larry Yarborough  

NC House District 29

Vernetta Alston  

NC House District 30: 

Guy Meilleur

Others in the race: Marcia Morey, William Antico

NC House District 31

Sean Haugh

Others in the race: Zack Hawkins  

Durham County Sheriff

Clarence Birkhead

Maria Jocys

Durham Soil and Water District Supervisor

Candidates: Lee Harris and Mark Waller

NC District Court 14, Seat 1

Dave Hall

NC District Court 14, Seat 2

Candidates: Doretta Walker

NC District Court 14, Seat 3

Kevin Jones

NC District Court 14, Seat 4

Candidates: Dorothy Mitchell 

NC District Court 14, Seat 5

Candidates: Clayton Jones

NC District Court 14, Seat 6

Amanda Maris

District Attorney

Satana Deberry

Durham Clerk of Court

Aminah Thompson

Wake County

NC Senate District 13

Lisa Grafstein 

Others in the race: Michael C. Munger, David Bankert 

NC Senate District 14

Candidates: Dan Blue, Matthew Laszacs, Chris Baker 

NC Senate District 15

Jay J. Chaudhuri 

Others in the race: Sammie Brooks, Emanuela Prister 

NC Senate District 16

Gale Adcock 

James Powers 

Michael Trudeau

Dee Watson 

NC Senate District 17

Sydney Batch 

Others in the race: Patrick J. Bowersox, Mark Cavaliero 

NC Senate District 18

Mary Wills Bode

Ryan Brown 

Others in the race: E.C. Sykes 

NC House District 11

Allison Dahle 

NC House District 21

Gerard Falzon

Ya Liu 

Others in the race: Joshua Morris 

NC House District 33

Candidates: Rosa Gill, Chris Costello, Stephanie Dingee 

NC House District 34

Timothy Longest

Others in the race: Kat McDonald, Ashley Seshul 

NC House District 35

Others in the race: Terence Everitt, Joseph Serio, Fred Von Canon 

NC House District 36

Julie von Haefen 

Others in the race: Kyle Ward, John Harris 

NC House District 37

Christine Kelly 

Others in the race: Erin Pare, Christopher Robinson

NC House District 38

Candidates: Abe Jones, Christopher Mizelle 

NC House District 39

Candidates: James A. Roberson, Greg Jones 

NC House District 40

Joe John 

Others in the race: Michael Nelson, Marilyn Avila 

NC House District 41

Maria Cervania 

Others in the race: Kevin Terrett, Bruce K. Forster 

NC House District 49

Cynthia Ball 

Others in the race: Michael Oakes, David Robertson 

NC House District 66

Sarah Crawford 

Others in the race: Micao Penaflor, Ives Brizuela de Sholar 

Raleigh Mayor

Mary-Ann Baldwin

Terrance Ruth

Others in the race: DaQuanta Copeland

Raleigh Council, At-Large

Anne Franklin

Jonathan Melton

Josh Bradley

Stormie Forte

Others in the race: James Bledsoe, John Odom, Portia Rochelle

Raleigh Council, District A

Mary Black-Branch

Cat Lawson

Whitney Hill

Raleigh Council, District B

Minu Lee

Megan Patton

Frank Pierce

Others in the race: Jakob Lorberblatt

Raleigh Council, District C

Corey Branch

Frank Fields

Others in the race: Wanda Hunter

Raleigh Council, District D

Robert Baumgart

Jane Harrison

Jenn Truman

Todd Kennedy

Raleigh Council, District E

David Knight 

Christina Jones

Board of Commissioners, Seat 1

Donald Mial

Others in the race: Chanel N. Harris 

Board of Commissioners, Seat  2

Matt Calabria 

Others in the race: Mark McMains 

Board of Commissioners, Seat 3

Cheryl Stallings 

Others in the race: Irina Comer 

Board of Commissioners, Seat 7

Candidates: Vickie Adamson 

Wake County Sheriff

Candidates: Willie Rowe, Donnie Harrison 

Clerk of Superior Court

Candidates: Blair Williams 

District Attorney

Lorrin Freeman 

Others in the race: Jeff Dobson 

Board of Education, District 1

Ben Clapsaddle

Others in the race: Cheryl Caulfield

Board of Education, District 2

Monika Johnson-Hostler

Others in the race: Dorian Hamilton, Monica Ruiz

Board of Education, District 3

Doug Hammack

Others in the race: Brooks Lowe, Wing Ng

Board of Education, District 4

Michael T. Williams

Others in the race: Daniel Grant-King, Becky Lew-Hobbs, Tara Waters

Board of Education, District 5

Lynn Edmonds

Others in the race: Dawn Townsend, Ross Beamon, Jackie Boegel

Board of Education, District 6

Sam Hershey

Dajma Livingston

Others in the race: Mary-Lewis Freeman, Patrice Nealon, Chad Stall

Board of Education, District 7

Chris Heagarty

Others in the race: Katie Long, Jacob Arthur

Board of Education, District 8

Lindsay Mahaffey

Others in the race: Steven Bergstrom

Board of Education, District 9

Tyler Swanson

Others in the race: Tara Ann Cartwright, Michele Morrow

Soil and Water Conservation District Supervisor 

Beth Pugh Farrell

Jenna Wadsworth

Stephen E. Xavier

Alex Baldwin

Others in the race: Brian K. Lewis

Note: Candidates in Wake’s superior court and district court races have not returned questionnaires

Orange County 

NC Senate District 23

Graig Meyer

Others in the race: Landon Woods

NC House District 50

Renee Price

Others in the race: Charles Lopez  

NC House District 56

Allen Buansi

District Attorney

Jeff Nieman

Orange County Sheriff

Candidates: Charles Blackwood

Board of Commissioners, At-Large

Candidates: Sally Greene

Board of Commissioners, District 1

Candidates: Jamezetta Bedford

Board of Commissioners, District 1 (unexpired term)

Candidates: Anna Richards

Board of Commissioners, District 2

Candidates: Earl McKee

NC Superior Court 15B, Seat 1

Alyson Grine

NC Superior Court 15B, Seat 2

Candidates: Allen Baddour  

Clerk of Superior Court

Candidates: Mark Kleinschmidt

Soil and Water District Supervisor 

Candidates: W. Chris Hogan and Richal Vanhook

Register of Deeds

Mark Chilton

Congressional and State Judicial Races

U.S. Senate

Matthew Hoh

Others in the race: Cheri Beasley, Ted Budd, Shannon Bray

US House 2

Deborah Ross

Others in the race: Christine Villaverde

US House 4

Courtney Geels

Valerie Foushee

US House 13

Wiley Nickel 

Others in the race: Bo Hines 

Supreme Court Justice Seat 3

Lucy Inman

Richard Dietz   

Supreme Court Justice Seat 5

Sam J. Ervin IV

Trey Allen   

NC Court of Appeals 8

Carolyn Thompson  

Julee Flood

NC Court of Appeals 9

Donna Stroud

Brad Salmon

NC Court of Appeals 10

Gale Murray Adams

John Tyson 

NC Court of Appeals 11

Darren Jackson

Others in the race: Michael Stading

Support independent local journalism. Join the INDY Press Club to help us keep fearless watchdog reporting and essential arts and culture coverage viable in the Triangle. 

Send comments to backtalk@indyweek.com